No Barriers Summit Honorary Committee

Wow, I am super excited! We have a powerhouse team backing the No Barriers Summit including our senior US Senator and the state Governor. It's no small feat to get major hitters like these backing an event, which speaks volumes about the significance of our Summit.

Don't forget to mark you calendars and join us in Winter Park, CO from June 30 to July 3rd!

Press Release:

The No Barriers Board of Directors and staff, along with Summit 2011 Partner, National Sports Center for the Disabled, are proud to unveil the No Barriers Summit 2011 Colorado Honorary Committee, an accomplished group of luminaries in the sports, business and civic arenas who, in an incredible show of support for the mission and purpose of the Summit, have volunteered to use their talent and influence to help spread the word and promote this bi-yearly international celebration of outdoor adventure sports, assistive technology, art, culture and music with a focus on giving people who live with challenges the technologies and techniques needed to help them live more active lives.

"The Colorado Honorary Committee is an amazingly diverse collection of individuals with ties to Colorado who, by simply volunteering their names and offering their talents, add credibility to our upcoming Summit event," says Erik Weihenmayer, No Barriers USA president. "While this is our fifth international event, it is the first time we have assembled a committee like this to help show the world that our work is necessary and groundbreaking. We are honored these luminaries have volunteered to join us as we continue our work of replacing society's perceptions about disability and personal challenge with a renewed belief in what is possible and what will be in the future."

Honorary Co-Chairs

The Honorable Mark Udall

U.S. Senator, State of Colorado

The Honorable John Hickenlooper

Governor, State of Colorado

Josh Blue

Comedian / U.S. Paralympian, Soccer

Craig Pollitt

President, National Sports Center for the Disabled

Honorary Committee Members

Alice Applebaum - Executive Director, Anchor Center for Blind Children

Joel Berman - Executive Director, Adaptive Adventures

Amanda Boxtel - eLegs Ambassador and Liaison, Berkeley Bionics

Michael Brown - Founder, Adventure Film School

Malcolm Daly - Executive Director, Paradox Sports

Julie Deden - Executive Director, Colorado Center for the Blind

Gary DeFrange - President, Winter Park Resort

Trish Downing - Author / Speaker / Director, Camp Discovery

Neil Duncan - U.S. Army - Retired

Joe Ellis - Chief Operating Officer, Denver Broncos

Bruce Fitch - President, Breckenridge Outdoor Educational Center

Mike Fordyce - President, Craig Hospital

Chanda Hinton-Leichtle - Executive Director, The Chanda Plan Foundation

Craig Kennedy - President, Access Anything

Chris Klug - U.S. Olympian Medalist, Snowboarding

Ian Lawless - Executive Director, U.S. Handcycling Federation

Mark Lucas - Executive Director, United States Association of Blind Athletes

Kimberly MacArthur Graham - Principal, Layer Cake Creative Marketing Strategies

James Mejia - CEO, Denver Preschool Program

Jeff Messner - Former President & CEO, World TEAM Sports

The Honorable Jim Myers - Mayor, Town of Winter Park

Alana Nichols - U.S. Paralympian Medalist, Wheelchair Basketball and Alpine Skiing

Aron Ralston - Author / Speaker

Jason Regier - U.S. Paralympian Medalist, Wheelchair Rugby

Catherine Ross - President, Winter Park Chamber of Commerce

Mark Shepherd - Executive Director, PVA Mountain States Chapter

Zachary Taylor - Regional Health Administrator Region VIII, Department of Health & Human Services

Tom Tucker - President, Denver Athletic Club

Matt Updike - U.S. Paralympian Medalist, Handcycling / Mortgage Banker

Sarah Will - U.S. Paralympian Medalist, Alpine Skiing